![]() |
|
|||||||
| Forum Announcements A public location for forum related announcements. |
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
|
#1 |
|
Administrator
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 151
|
We all know that we need to look out for emails from people we don't know. Especially ones that have attachments.
But what do you do when b5 Support sends you a zip file out of the blue, telling you to look at the attached word doc that explains how to get your email working again? Delete it of course! Have you gotten this email: Dear B5media Member, Or maybe one that looked like this:
Or even this "Dear User" email:
I've gotten dozens of them. Now, being on the tech team, I have an advantage in that I KNOW we didn't send it. Here are a few things you can look for: First, we won't be sending you .zip or .exe files out of the blue. If we ever do send a file to you, it would be from one of us individually and it would be part of an email thread/discussion we are having. So, you will know it is coming. Second, we won't use B5media with a capital B multiple places in the email. We are b5media not B5media. And we will almost always have an individual tech team member's name at the bottom. Also any "b5media"s will always be lower case (or the offender will get 40 lashes with a wet noodle and will be subject to much teasing by the rest of the b5media tech team. I know from experience and no, I don't want to talk about it). Third, Declarations at the end of the email saying that it is virus free almost always indicate it is virus laden. Especially when they software they use is "+++ B5media Antivirus". See that capital B again? And I didn't even know that we wrote antivirus packages. I thought we were into blogging! Fourth, the attachements will not be faked to look like the are DOC files when they really are EXEs. Look at contents of the .zip attachment from that email: ![]() It looks like a .doc file right? At least at first glance? Because the file type is right beside it in my setup, you can see that they are doing something tricky... The file type isn't document; it's application.See those three dots after the file name? ![]() Look what happens when we expand that column: ![]() They put lots of spaces at the end of the file name to make the real extension be hidden. The file name is something like "account-report.doc .exe". That way the .exe is hidden to the casual observer. Pretty tricky huh! ![]() Well, I just wanted to make sure you all were aware of this email. I've been getting them since April, so chances are you'll get one sometime too. BTW, If I ever sign an email "Virtualy yours" please feel free to slap me around a bit! THANKS! Can you even hear us saying "Dear User"???
__________________
Brian Layman b5media Inc. www.b5Media.com / www.TheCodeCave.com Skype: BrianLayman Last edited by Brian; February 9th, 2009 at 09:01 AM. |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Fashionista Who Cooks
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 182
|
Thanks Brian, much appreciated
__________________
b5media blogs : She Knows Best Style It Less Style Tots Beauty Gizmo Soaps On ABC Pop Music Scene Elsewhere : DexieJaneWharton FEISTYMOMMA FEISTYCOOK ScrapLoving |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 | |
|
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 928
|
Quote:
![]() By the way, maybe it's worth sending the main b5 internal mailing list a link to this forum post. I know not everyone checks the forums. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Worst Case Scenario
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: In a state of confusion
Posts: 391
|
Another little step I do is to hover over any links I receive in an e-mail message and look where they're going to send me in the status bar of my browser or the pop-up bubble in my e-mail client.
Many times what the text says for the link in a URL and the actual value of the link are completely different. In general I don't click on links in messages at all. I'll type in the URL of the company directly if it's actually a company I do business with and think it may be a legitimate e-mail. |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Administrator
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 151
|
Good advice Jason!
__________________
Brian Layman b5media Inc. www.b5Media.com / www.TheCodeCave.com Skype: BrianLayman |
|
|
|
![]() |
| Tags |
| None |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|